ABB favoring a host. Warning--long post

So, I’ve actually been too embarrassed to even write this, but I’m going to share it anyway because I think it’s important.

I’ve been high and dry for months with my listing for a while now. Luckily, I have a full time job, so I don’t depend on this income, but it does come in handy.

For those that don’t know me, mine is a shared home listing, guests have the upstairs bedroom and non-attached bathroom exclusively, and we share living and kitchen area on bottom floor, where my bedroom/bathroom is located.
I live in an area of NY that is heavily dependent on the summer tourist season. My rates range from $65-$85.night.
I’m in my 3rd year of hosting. Wait, maybe it’s my 4th. Anyway.

So, like I said, my listing was high and dry starting in the Fall of 2016, when I usually normally get a somewhat steady stream of guests from other countries. I of course, blamed it on the politics :slight_smile:

I don’t like to rent during the winter as it’s iffy here with blizzards and I really don’t want to add keeping the place shoveled out at a moments notice for a guests need on to my already full schedule. Me, I’m used to traipsing through the snow but with guests, there is always a different standard.

Finally, in late April, I started getting a request or two for May and June. Some I declined because you know…stupid people ask stupid questions when they ask for a booking and you just don’t think it’s gonna be a good thing. For a while, I was declining more than I was accepting.

So, I started to play around with the smart pricing recommendations, and every once in a while, would change my price for a random few nights during the week to the ‘tip’ given by ABB, or just a few bucks above.

So, when “Suzie” requested a one night stay on a Wednesday night in the middle of May, for a listed price of $63, I said yes. The booking request came in one week prior to arrival date. She had one good review and 4 verifications.