A Review Response Question

Hi! I am new to AirBnB, and have enjoyed two set of guests (two different couples) in my private room for 1-2 people with one matter during the stays.

The first guests were to arrive after 6pm but they got there early and called me at work to say that the key did not work in their door. I left work early, bringing work home, although by the time I got home I recalled that I had left the guest room door open. Plus the key was tested and worked.

I got home to a wide open guest room door. They came back, and said they had thought the garage door was the door to their room. They had been in the room but thought the room door was the garage door so they were obviously quite confused. I was able to show them around and it was nice to meet them.

Then, the couple’s reservation maker gave me a 4 on “arrival”. I would say my coming home to deal with their confusion was my service to grade on, not their having their confusion. Otherwise it was all a 5. I did add two signs after that- outside the door identifying the room and on the pull down bed identifying the bed. I don’t believe they had seen the profile, photos, nor got that info from their reservation-maker.

My question is what would veteran Airbnb folks do?

1. point out to reservation maker that her review is making AirBnB give me notices that I am sub-par for my area while my service was personal for her confused guests?
  2. Respond to the review on the web site and chalk it up to experience?
  3. 1 + 2
  4. Live and learn?
  5. Other?

Thanks for all I have been able to glean from your posts!

What did the guest write in their review?

1 Like

@SheilaS - Post a constructive response to their review. Something like “Our goal is to make your arrival as easy as possible, and we were hopeful our goal had been accomplished. To ensure our future guests do not get confused, we have added some signs to make things easier. We do hope you come back and see us again”

3 Likes