A booking enquiry with a guest having friends over?

Hi all. I’m a homeshare/live in host. I’ve been renting two rooms through airbnb for the past 6 years in Ireland. Recently I got a booking enquiry for a one night. The guest said he was very interested in booking the room for the night but only under the condition that he could have some friends over for a few hours in the evening. I found this a bit bizarre. The rooms are there to provide a decent nights sleep & somewhere comfortable to stay while visiting my little city. Maybe I’m being paranoid here, but my automatic thought was ‘why is he looking to book a room specifically to have people over? What would they be up to in my house?’ Perhaps I’m uptight bit no, the idea made me instantly uncomfortable & I declined the booking.

Have any other home share hosts had guests wanting visitors over? I felt he was booking the room for himself & himself alone. I’ve never had other guests ask me could they have company. In my opinion, that’s not what airbnb is about.

Any thoughts on this fellow hostst?

3 Likes

Why is that?

I would have asked. Not only the reason but how many guests? Depending on the situation, I might have added extra charges.

My apartments both sleep two people so I’m not the same as an in-home host, but I don’t have a problem with guests having friends over. It happens a lot.

Do you rent the room to couples? If it’s too small for more than two, just let him know so that he understands why you declined him.

1 Like

I don’t have a home share but right off the bat, I don’t like the tone of “I’ll book on one condition”. It’s your house and you set the terms.

But if that wasn’t the tone and just lost in translation here, I would consider it. In theory, I don’t have a problem with a guest having people over, as long as I’m aware of the circumstance.