2022 us taxes - do you use airbnb's gross or do you start with net?

so i’m confused. i file a schedule c because i participate materially in the running of it. i don’t get a 1099 because i only make about $20k/yr, and these years it’s mostly monthly stays, so i don’t have anything like 200 guests/yr…

airbnb’s earnings summary shows gross earnings - fees = total paid. so i just generally go ahead and use the total paid line because the fees are already deducted. is this right? because i’m seeing i can deduct these fees on schedule c.

should i be declaring gross?

Hi, I so think you need to speak with an accountant, read some articles about Schedule C, and/or use TurboTax with the paid preparer assistance option.

I could answer your question correctly but I’m choosing not to because I don’t want to give tax advice as I am not a tax professional.

However your question indicates that Sch C is unfamiliar territory for you and so, one way or another, you need to educate yourself or give your return to a professional. Best wishes.

Here’s what you do:

1. On transaction history download the .csv file into Excel.
    That will show you the details.
  2. You’ll see in that file what you were paid out in column L.
  3. If you look at your 1099 you’ll (at least this is true in mine) that Airbnb shows the taxable amount to be:
    a) the amount they paid out to you, plus
    b) the Host fee (which they not you got), plus
    c) Any negative Resolution Center Payments that you made (in other words they will add not subtract the absolute value of these amounts to your taxable income.
  4. Your taxable income, so far, based on the 1099 will be:
    a) the amount shown as taxable (box 1a), LESS
    b) Host fees paid to Airbnb (column M) – you’ll take this as a tax deduction, LESS
    c) Amounts You paid out through the Resolution Center (shown as negative amounts in column K).