When is it appropriate to call Airbnb?

So I’m wondering when people thing it’s appropriate to call Airbnb. It seems to me that hosts are very quick to run to Airbnb for all kinds of things that I would consider just part of being a host.

I’ve been hosting for over 4 years and I think I’ve called them about five times. Once about a missed payment, once about getting my full name removed from a review, once about a complicated reservation that I couldn’t manage to resolve, once about re-locating guests that I found abandoned in my local shop (yes, indeed) and once when a guest took seriously ill and I had to re-locate incoming guests. The latter, by the way, was just to get their help in transferring the reservation because I had already found another host to take them.

Obviously there are serious situations where Airbnb needs to step up and help, like when your place is completed trashed, stuff is blatantly stolen etc. but it seems quite often that hosts are advised to call Airbnb over the most trivial things. I’d be interested to hear what others think. Maybe I turned into a nasty old Blackpool landlady (:wink: for any Brits on here)

Hehe - me too :slight_smile:

I’ve only called Airbnb three times. Two were regarding guests who were getting muddled up and couldn’t figure out how to book.

The third time was me being daft - IB had been turned off for some reason and I was being stupid about how to reinstate it. Totally my fault for not paying attention.

On each occasion, the reps were great.

I have had guests who I’ve had to throw out but have done it myself without resorting to Airbnb. I’ve had damage and not reported it because I’ve considered it wear and tear. To be honest, I don’t like hearing stories about hosts who try to claim for every broken wine glass or stains on the sheets.

1 Like