What to do when you can’t respond for days?

Hi, I’m a total newbie host who has not listed yet. I’m sorry if this question is not appropriate but I can’t seem to find the answer elsewhere.

I like to backpack and go on spiritual retreats and at those times I will not have access to a mobile phone or internet and I won’t be able to respond to inquiries or requests to book my place. Is there a way to let Airbnb and customers know I’m not available so that I don’t get a poor response rate and so that potential renters are not disappointed? Can I ‘pause’ my listing?

Yes you can - BUT- you will drop in the listing pages as you are seen to be unavailable and the more you drop the harder you are to find and the less bookings you will get.

1 Like

or you could consider having a co-host to manage your listing whilst absent.

2 Likes

You can snooze it but I concur. I just blocked the entire month of March and seemed to endure some kind of “punishment” for doing so. It is just now picking up again.

1 Like

I agree with the others “if you snooze, you lose”. Better to have a co-host friend who, like a cat sitter, can respond to Inquiries and Requests to Book on your behalf, while you’re up a mountain somewhere.

2 Likes

Yes I snooze when I am getting on a long flight or going hiking, yoga retreats etc.

Thanks everyone! The idea of a cohost is a good one - I will look into it.

What about sending an automated reply (saying I’m out of touch)? Is Airbnb onto that?

Airbnb does not offer that service, but others do, like SmartBnB, the founder of which - @smartbnb.io - is an active and generous long time member of the forum.

1 Like

Agree! The point is though, why are you leaving your business? In every business scenario, business owners can go on vacation or whatever leaving the place in good hands. Airbnb shouldn’t be some casual thing but should be taken seriously.

That’s just my opinion though.