What are the best and worst parts about being an Airbnb host?

Hello everyone, I joined this forum last week it seems like great community and resource. I’m a solo software developer with an interest in the world of Airbnb hosting.

I’d like to find out what you enjoy about Airbnb hosting, which areas are difficult, how you got started, and what makes you continue hosting.

What would you avoid if you could? What would you do more of if you could?

Answers here all greatly appreciated.

These sort of questions have been asked quite often on this forum.

What sort of listing are you looking to set up and where ? The answers will vary quite widely depending on how you intend to set up your listing.

Or is this market research for the software you are developing.

Have you tried using the search function?

Hello @Helsi, thank-you for your reply. This question is research, I have a project in an early stage and I hope to get some broad info here.

Thanks for pointing me towards the search function, I did look and try to find similar topics. The forum also auto suggested some other posts based on the title. However, the only similar topic I found was from 2 years ago and wasn’t quite right… although it was quite interesting to read that many hosts say the hardest part is constant cleaning!

Can you give an example of how changes to a listing would increase the variance of answers?

Ah, it’s the end of semester I see.

8 Likes

On Airbnb you can find luxury castles that hold a couple dozen overnight guests. You can also find an off-grid tree house for a max of 2 where you’d compost your poop. And a homeshare in downtown Berkeley where you’d have a bunk bed over another guest and kitchen and bath facilities shared among a dozen fellow guests. Each of those will have their own types of problems and hosting styles, as you can imagine.