Well it seems time to say goodbye

When I first came on this forum 3 years ago as a newbie I defo felt a bit exposed asking questions and giving my opinion. But I really appreciated that it was the sort of forum where people give honest answers. Not always the ones I wanted to hear. But that is how you learn. Over time I tried to answer questions knowing sometimes my answers would be a bit obvious or downright useless.

Now it seems there is a bit of a backlash against some of us as someone called it “peppery” members.

So here are the three rules you should always follow when having to deal with bad guests or indeed prickly people on this forum:

1. let it go
  2. let it go
  3. let it go

9 Likes

Thank you for articulating my own feelings so articulately. But please have a re-think about leaving; so many of us will really miss your wondrously pithy input. If all of us who feel similarly, left, there would be precious little left to engage with positively.

11 Likes

Thanks Joan, still here for little while. I honestly believe that the rules of any forum are set by the owners and it is their right to set the parameters. I’ve been on forums since the early 80s (anyone else remember Alt. and flame wars?).

But I have heard privately from some of my favourite members who are leaving. A real pity. I might try and set up a new forum. One where we can just be our ole peppery selves. The funny thing is I interact with people all over the world here and that is pretty amazing. Summer there and Winter here. The real reason the internet is great (even pre WWW for peeps like me). Good luck.:japanese_goblin:

5 Likes

For what it’s worth, I have always appreciated your presence here and I hope that you won’t be leaving. :muscle:

3 Likes

I haven’t “liked” your post, JJS because I don’t like it … don’t you dare go and leave us - after all, just think how bland all our fare would be without a little salt and a LOT of pepper!

3 Likes