Very annoyed with guest who blames me and my pricing because he didn't read my listing

I really don’t want to start the New Year with a rant but it is unavoidable considering I received my first 2 star (value) on any item in a review from my most recent guest after he complained that I charged an extra person fee after two guests, that I charge for cleaning and a pet fee. By the way,I have been renting on Airbnb for close to 5 years with over 80 5 star reviews on Airbnb, 40 5 star reviews on HomeAway/VRBO. I sent the guest an email explaining that 4 guests are twice as much work in my two bedroom apartment, that pets require an additional amount of cleaning and that by keeping my base price reasonable, I do not price out couples that may want to book my place rather than a group. Also, I noted that is was ALL very clearly identified in my listing and the House Rules which he had to agree to before being allowed to book. He told me that he felt the same about Airbnb with hidden charges as he does Spirit Airlines with hidden baggage and seat reservation fees - REALLY - everyone by now understands all this fees and calculates them into whether to book or not with a particular airline and since he is not a new user of Airbnb he should have understood as well. I also explained that I live in a rural area and need to be competitive but support my small business! This does bring up a big issue I have with Airbnb concerning my pet fee - why can’t it be automatically charged like the cleaning fee as is the case with other platforms such as HomeAway/VRBO. Thanks for listening and I do not think I am the only host with this complaint.

1 Like