Used food/shower supplies

Hi,
If I were to supply shampoo, conditioner etc and butter or other condiments in the fridge. Does anyone leave them for the next person (if in date) or would you take them and use them for yourself and supply new ones? I’m new to this and will be renting out a self contained flat

1 Like

You will find Hosts here that do both, and even some that just throw it away, even if not expired or fully used. What you do is up to you and what you can afford.

3 Likes

I supply shampoo and conditioner in bulk so those stay through several guests/months. My cleaner usually takes out of the fridge what she wants, lots of spices and oils and such get left in the pantry.

2 Likes

I refill smaller shampoo and conditioner so they always look full when guests arrive. I used to keep salad dressing and condiments in the fridge but noticed that most people stopped using them after the halfway mark so I don’t supply any of that stuff. There are little packets of sugar that I refill and there are a few packets of instant oatmeal, someone also just left a rather large bag of rice which I’ll keep in the cupboard.

2 Likes

IMHO it’s best to buy bulk bathroom supplies like liquid soap, shampoo, conditioner. With kitchen condiments and such it’s best to buy individual packets of mayo, ketchup, mustard, pickle relish, salad dressings, etc. Look around your area for a restaurant supply store which will either carry such items to give an idea of where to find them.

Some things which get left I keep; some things I toss. A leftover slice of pizza becomes lunch, but I wouldn’t eat a sandwich that had been bitten into for example…

2 Likes

In a begining I always left condiments and salad dressings. But i had quite a few guests who complained that fridge was not cleaned for them. I told them the fridge is clean , it’s just condiments that you actually don’t have to buy. They threw away them anyway.