Turbotax and Airbnb income, with no 1099-K form advice needed

Hello,

Can anyone help me figure out how to report my Airbnb income in Turbotax? Airbnb says that only people who make $20k or more will get a 1099-K form, so since I only made $1700 last year via Airbnb I won’t be getting one.

Last year when I did this with Turbo Tax I found advice online on how to do this and filed just fine. But, over the summer my laptop died and I lost the turbotax files. My printout of my 1040 form from last year doesn’t show anything about the Airbnb income so I cannot figure out how I did this before.

Would I call it “Paypal income” and put it under selling things since I can’t claim what I did as “Rental property income”?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers.

I’m an enrolled agent, so I cant answer specifically on how Turbo may lead you down the path, but if you rented the space for 14 days or less in 2015, then the income will go on line 21, other income, and best to add a note on the line that it was short term rental income of x days. You’ll then take a deduction on line 36 of the same amount, so in the end its not taxed. You don’t get to deduct any expenses or show a loss. If you rented for 15 days or more then it’s considered self employment and goes on schedule C. You will report all income and all legal expenses, and you can show a loss. Items purchased that have an expected life of more than 1 year need to be depreciated. IRS laws state that all income from all sources worldwide is to be reported along with all expenses. Small businesses are more heavily audited than the general dip into the barrel, so have good records to document all income and expenses. Small businesses can be a complex topic, go to a professional if you’re not entirely comfortable, its worth the extra cost and you can deduct the schedule C portion of your tax prep fees on 2016’s schedule C as an expense.