Short let vs long let - pros and cons?

Dear hosts,

So I’ve been renting my apartment on AirBnb for just over 2 years now. I’m crunching the numbers and I’m seeing that my income with short term rental is slightly less than what I would get with a long let (6 months or more) when considering today’s market prices. I always thought STR should bring more profit than having long term tenants but I’m thinking this may no longer be the case in my market.

The STR market here in Malta may have reached saturation ever since I put up my listing, there is no way I could increase prices if I want to be competitive. Long let prices have gone up considerably in the past 2 years due to high influx of foreigners coming to work and live on the island. Just to give you an idea, 2 years ago one could rent a 1 bedroom apartment for €300 - €400 a month, now prices have gone in the range of €700 - €800 a month and this is excluding utilities.

Currently I’m making around €600 a month with STR so its a €100-€200 discrepancy vs a long let.

I’ve never done long lets so I’m curious to ask hosts who have experience with both: what would be the pros and cons of switching to a long let? What would you suggest in my case?

Thanks!

I think long term let would be better if you don’t need your rental in the foreseeable future. Obviously you will get less opportunity to inspect and manage the property. You do need a trustworthy tenant who will look after it. Get a really good legal contract and a good maintenance system.

I think that’s what deposits are for.