Scared to use AIR for potential month long rental, other suggestions?

My husband and I have been doing AIR for about 2 months only on weekends. Our longest stay has been 3 nights. I don’t know much about other sites like homeaway, and I’m wondering if another site is better suited. We will be on the road for 3 weeks to a month and it is our home that we rent out. I have always done greeting/key exchange in person and I always go straight home after guests have checked out and we have always been 45 minutes away in case something happens. We are on a tight budget for our trip and it would be amazing if we could offset the cost, but I’m feeling apprehensive about not being in town… Any suggestions greatly appreciated!

Got a friend? A best friend? A best friend who would take a few bucks to check people in and out and basically manage for you? Hopefully someone a lot closer than 45 minutes. That’s what I would do.

1 Like

When my daughter and I went to Italy for almost the entire month of June, I hired one of my daughter’s friend’s mother, who cleans homes for a living to clean while we were away. I bribed (paid her) well to do the job. My situation is different than most as I am in a place where I get $300-$350/night in the summers, so I paid her $200/cleaning. I bought enough towels, duvet covers, sheets, dish towels, etc. that I washed and ironed before I left so that she didn’t have to do laundry. Since she is fully booked during the day, I blocked out the night before and after each stay during our absence so that my cleaner had 24+ hours to clean (which I took as a cost of going on vacation). She did not greet our guests. However, I notified my guests that I would be in Italy (after they booked) and kept in constant contact with them while away. I have a keyless entry so guests can do self check-in. I also had my handyman on notice that he would be paid well to take care of any problems that my cleaner couldn’t handle.