Report that Airbnb to Halt Marketing, Hiring

Via email from the tech news source The Information:
“Airbnb plans to halt all marketing, pause most hiring, and likely withhold employee bonuses as it tries to conserve cash amid a slide in bookings, CEO Brian Chesky told employees in a video conference call Thursday, a person familiar with the matter said”
“When asked about layoffs, Chesky told employees that nothing is off the table.”

2 Likes

Maybe Airbnb employees will be joining disgruntled hosts with their pitchforks and torches at the barricades outside Chesky’s mansion?

On a serious note, will we be happier when our platform is run by Amazon or another company?

3 Likes

At least there customer service is decent! Who knows how this will shake out

I have no experience with Amazon’s customer service. But I do know a number of friends (authors and small biz owners) who have sold—or tried to sell—products on Amazon. Amazon has been brutal to them, making it almost impossible for them earn a profit. I don’t remember their details, but I know it’s been a hostile environment for them.

Not so sure I’d look forward to being a host (vendor) on Amazon. Nor do I want Amazon to be the only “store” that survives this pandemic.

1 Like

‘well would ya just look at those idiots at Amazon, what the hell do they think they’re doing trying to compete with Barnes and Noble? dumbasses.’

–The Tech Industry, c. 1994

1 Like

The “independent contractor” drivers get screwed too, just enough to keep them going. I would not want to be a vendor with them either.

1 Like

I’d rather give up a bonus than a job.

All hosts are hurting from the cancellations. My moderate cancellation policy allowed my guests to get a full refund excluding Airbnb fees for the April bookings anyway.

Airbnb refunded the booking fees too. Airbnb took a huge financial hit. It will affect their ability to make a public stock offering.