Potential guest has asked me to reserve dates until they get paid! HELP

HI everyone,
I’m a newbie here and learning very quickly! we listed last weekend and are solidly booked until the end of next week. An entire holiday home on our acreage property, suitable for up to 8 people but we are targeting families. I have just received a request from a guest who has asked me to reserve 2 nights for her next month, 6 adults and she has no verifications and doesn’t seem to have booked anything at all (according to her profile)…Friday to Sunday, she looks early 20’s in profile and has asked me to reserve the nights until she gets paid Monday next week!! I obviously have some concerns, and I also think its pretty cheeky to ask someone to reserve a holiday home for a week…6 adults, I am thinking parties (and yes no parties or events are in the house rules)
I am not sure what to do, I want to say no but in the nicest way :slight_smile:
any advice would be greatly appreciated

Just say no. And that if it’s still available when she is in a position to book you will be happy to accept her booking.

7 Likes

yeah, most ‘enquiries’ never materialise. Put your official holiday letting company head on, and tell her you aren’t able to do that, but hopefully everything will be available when she’s paid.
You’d think out of the 6 adults, one of them could lend her the money.
I reserved a week for someone who was waiting to be paid. The week was a couple of months away, in an empty month, so I didn’t mind. Her payday came and went, so I messaged her, she said “oh sorry, I forgot, give me a couple of days…”
I gave her a couple of days, then a couple more, then messaged her again. She paid, but the effort was not worth it. It was one more thing to keep in my head!

3 Likes

If they’re not ready to pay and book, they’re not ready to stay. You need a responsible capable person to look after your property. Leave your dates open and hope for a better booking.

5 Likes