New user ~ Greetings from Colombia

Hello, fellow hosts. My name is Christopher, and you can call me Chris. I am a house painter and musician by trade, and an aspiring voiceover actor as well. My partner and I have been Airbnb hosts in Chicago for over three years. During this time, we have welcomed hundreds of guests from around the world into our home, and have made friends with quite a number of them. The experience has been joyful, and has also entailed a lot of hard work! Daily cleaning, washing tons of laundry, corresponding with guests, and all the while keeping up-to-speed on regulations as they have applied to our city.

Towards the end of this past summer, my partner and I decided to move from Chicago, and we are currently taking a much-needed extended break in Santa Marta, Colombia. While here, we are both planning our next business plans and destinations. She will be going to Europe to open a business retreat for women, whereas I will be headed back to the U.S. via Portland, OR, to continue my voiceover work and explore this area which I have not yet visited.

Part of my plan was to find a place to stay in Portland, where I could rent an extra room or two through Airbnb. However, the problems ahead appear to be two-fold. The first is that an increasing number of U.S cities, including my beloved sweet home Chicago, are passing laws which make it extremely more difficult to rent through Airbnb. The other problem I am seeing comes from the company itself, that there seems to be a growing lack or concern for hosts in general, on the part of Airbnb corporate and its customer service.

I love hosting, and would do it again in a heartbeat, and in an idea situation, but am going to put this plan on the back burner for a while. In the meantime, I am glad to have found this forum for hosts, and am also glad to offer my experience and support to other hosts who need it.

Thank you for having read this far, and I’ll see you around!

3 Likes