New to Airbnb taking suggestion

Hello, I am a new (well future) host. I just purchased a home and I am thinking of Airbnb one of the rooms until. However it being a new home I don’t have any landscaping in my backyard. Does that make a difference since I am just renting out one room? And also I am a traveling consultant so I am never home. Is it safe to airbnb it our while I am not home? I eventually plan out hosting the entire house once I get it completely furnished. Any advice or suggestion are greatly appreciated by this newbie.

thank you

Safe? Yes, because you will use electronic locks not key locks, and you will have exterior CCTV cameras recording to storage. You will also have a local person who manages the place for you, cleans the place between guests, and generally acts as your Manager. You really need to pay that person unless s/he is your partner, and then you still need to compensate him/er.

4 Likes

Hello. I’m new to the real estate investment scene. I’ve been studying all the creative ways to make money on a property if I can’t sell it. I listened to a webinar about this Airbnb. I think its a great idea but from the article i found, it’s a con scheme. From all the posts I’ve read, a lot of people are doing realy well with it. I’ve been trying to figure out what area would be good to start. E.G. rural, town, city. Thanks to all.

It’s not a con scheme. My husband and I make lots of our retirement income from Airbnb. There are successful Airbnbs in cities, towns, and rural locations. It just depends on what guests are looking for in that area, what’s nearby for them, etc. Or, if rural, maybe a vacation spot.

Airbnb is very real for many, many hosts. We take it seriously as our business and make real money from it.