New to Air B&B concerned

Hi, I am new to this and have advertised a spare room in our home. We have a booking from a couple in January but have just received a new request from a male for two nights but he has no referrals or even anything to say where he is from. Is this normal??

Yes, it’s normal for new users of the service. Although, I always go with my gut feeling. When I’ve accepted questionable requests in the past, they have never went smoothly.

I’m fairly new to hosting as well and the majority of my guests have been ‘newbies’ and I haven’t had any problems.They’ve all been excited about using Air and really grateful for a nice place to stay in a good neighborhood. For requests where the profile isn’t filled out I follow-up and ask them to update it and write something about themselves.I also ask a few questions about their stay and their general plans. How they respond and if they take the time to do it can speak volumes on if they ‘get it’ or not… Just my two cents…

3 Likes

Yes, it’s normal. Whether you want to accept the booking is up to you. I personally won’t accept a booking unless a user has provided official ID to Airbnb. I rent my home (rather than a full-time listing) on Airbnb, it’s a nice secondary income but not worth the risk to accept bookings I’m not 100% sure about.

If a user doesn’t have ID, then I will ask them to update their profile. Similar to @SleepingInSeattle, which is good advice.

Thanks, I have sent him a message but no response as yet :slight_smile:

Thanks, I have asked but no response as yet :slight_smile:

1 Like

If he doesn’t respond just decline the booking.

1 Like

Even if they are new users they should take 30 seconds to introduce themselves. Although I have accepted ones who didn’t, had mysterious profiles and turned out to be perfectly lovely guests. I’ve had ones tell me too much and ended up being nit pickers.

1 Like