New & Preparing

Hello,
I am new to this and am preparing to host very soon. I would like any helpful tips on hosting like 1- type of lock on door Digital? or Lock box ? and any other tips. There are few things I have to prepare before any guess arrive.
I appreciate the help

Welcome to the forum, use the search box and you will find answers to most of your questions. I use a keypad lock on my door, I used to use a lockbox but it was a pain.

Good luck

RR

1 Like

Thank you I appreciate it I also heard tell that on a lock box some guess may make a spare key not sure if it ever happened.

Oh, I’m sure it’s happened! For both the security of your property and guests, it’s best to avoid physical keys. If you’re hosting groups it’s also more convenient for them to share a code than a single key.

IMO a keypad door lock and outdoor camera are invaluable. I use the Kwikset 910 and a Ring Pro doorbell.

The Kwikset door code is easy to reset - just slide the cover off, push the reset button, and key in the new 4-digit code. I use the last 4-digits of the guests’ phone number (I know many hosts do the same). We reset the code after we’ve cleaned, so there’s no chance a new guest could let themselves in early (either while other guests are still inside or before we’ve cleaned). There are lots of lock options out there - I’d suggest avoiding anything that requires an app or smart phone. Keep it simple!

The Ring doorbell makes it easy for me to see when guests have arrived, see the person who booked, and that they brought the correct number of guests. It gives you video evidence if someone is bringing extra people, dogs, or other shenanigans.