New host with new guest wanting to book - ask for id?

Hi.
I’m new to Airbnb. I’ve just had my first booking request and it’s from someone who looks like they have joined Airbnb just to book my apartment, so I can’t see any history about him. I haven’t selected the ‘instant book’ option so I can’t automatically see proof of government id. Should I be asking for something like id off him before I accept his booking? I don’t want to scare him away though! He might think I think he looks dodgy if I ask for id so early in the process.
What checks of my own, if any, should I be doing?

You can see verified info regardless of booking method. Click on their picture to see the profile. Verified info is listed on the left. You can ask them to get their ID verified with Airbnb if you want them to do that prior to booking.

2 Likes

Since you’re brand new, I would be very careful about a new guest’s intentions, especially if they’re from the same city as you. Ask questions! When we opened our second listing, we had a number of inquiries right away looking for deals and they seemed dodgy. We figured some people look specifically for new new listings/hosts because they know they can take advantage of them. Also, without verified ID, how do you know he didn’t just set a new account with no ratings to hide a bad track record? Your first bookings are very important!

2 Likes

Turn off Instant Book until you have a better handle on hosting. Way too scary for the beginner.

4 Likes

Hello @tan8856

Have you decided go to ahead with your listing on the basis of offering long term bookings but wanting to offer 48 hours notice if you need to move back in?

:joy: no! I was being hypothetical saying 48h. We are thinking 1 month is more sensible.

Ask the potential guest questions - What brings you to this part of _____?

We have always accepted new guests, right from our beginning, and not had any problems. Everyone has to start someplace.

Is this one guest? A couple? A family?