Nearby host is falsely listing parking on site as amenity

I am new to hosting and live in a small village where parking is very, very difficult to find. The streets are very narrow and cars have to park on the pavement.

There is one other host locally and she lists “Free parking on premises” as one of the amenities. But she has no such parking whatsoever. His property is basically a flat with no space outside.

I have respectfully suggested that the listing should more accurately describe the amenities but met with refusal.
I do not wish to stoop to this level of deceit in order to compete.

What else can I do?

Report the listing along with photos of the lack of parking. There’s a place you can do that.

3 Likes

Thanks. Where is the place to do that and will AirBNB take any notice.

Or just wait until they get nailed by guest reviews.

8 Likes

I wonder if this is where you report it. Under ‘other’

https://www.airbnb.com/neighbors

Of course, I don’t know who would have the data to know whether Airbnb will take notice.

How long has she been hosting? One would think that if her guests found her description to be inaccurate and objectionable, it would be mentioned in some reviews or low accuracy ratings.

And as a new host, I would concentrate on making my listing stand out in some way, so guests book with you because they find your listing to be attractive to them, rather than concerning myself with whether another host is being inaccurate with her amenities list, and even considering “stooping to her level in order to compete”.

If her guests are taking up resident street parking, that might be a matter to take up with your local authorities.

7 Likes