My plan as a complete newbie host

Hello all. I am sorry if Newbie advice posts are frowned upon. I just really do not know where to turn to find out more information. I recently stumbled upon a house in a city that I am planning to move to in a year or two. It is my dream home in so many ways. The timing is just not right to move there right now, but since I am really interested in like a 3 street area of this town, finding the perfect house in the perfect price range and perfect location has me now trying to find a way to buy it. Putting a long term tenant in it seems less than ideal. I have used Airbnb many times when traveling. I like the idea that I could use the house as well when I want to as a vacation place. Yes there is the expense of furnishing it, but otherwise the house is turn-key. I really do not know how hot the market is where the house is. There are about 8 other listings in town (small-ish beach community in Michigan). One woman seems to dominate the space. She has three homes on Airbnb, one of which is very close to the house I am looking at. That house in particular is very well booked for the next month or so. Her prices are around 130 a night. My house is larger, and has a better location (2 blocks from the beach). The price estimator says I can make $530 a week on Airbnb. How accurate is this? What other research can I do to see if this would be a viable option? I would need to make at least around $1200 a month to cover expenses. I really appreciate anyone’s advice. Thank you.

Everyone’s tolerance of risk is different, but I’d personally not buy a place without being 100% sure of the market and the returns. If it’s your dream home and you plan to live there, then you can’t really go wrong with real estate as a long-term buy. But a whole lot can go wrong in the short-medium term, and it’s worth considering those variables before you jump in.