Long term guest?

So I just listed my first Airbnb 4 days ago. I just got a request from someone for 2 months :scream:. So my area is a small town, not many big businesses but has 2 big colleges. Not sure why someone would want my place for 2 months. Is there anything to be concerned about? My gut says something is off, but what do I know, I’m a newbie!

1 Like

Did they IB? If they didn’t say why they were coming, ask them. Do they have reviews or are they new to the system?

What are your restrictions on how long someone can stay?
I’d be a little concerned about this and by asking questions you can decide if this is something for you.

For my very first guest I sure wouldn’t want someone for 2 months, but then my limit has always been a week.

1 Like

What is IB? He has no reviews, just joined Airbnb this month!

IB–Instant Booking. If you have this on, the guest, if they have all the things you require, can book without asking.

Is this a request to book? Ask why they are coming?

Yes it’s a request to book. I sent him a message. I’ll let you know

Is it a whole house rental? If so, be careful of swatters. Did he indicate how many guests? Are any of the guests children?

Is it a room in your home? Then ask him why he’s coming to town for two months? Try to get his first and last name and google him.

He might be a student working as a TA (teacher assistant) or maybe an internship, he might be waiting for housing and missed the dealine to apply for a dorm. It’s important for you to know why he needs two months.

1 Like

Decline it. Right now. Just hit the decline button and send a nice message saying that it’s just too long a stay for you right now.

Even if you don’t mind suddenly becoming a landlord, it’s a waste of the perks you get for being a new host and will keep you from building up reviews.