Is this allowed and is it rude?

I’m new to hosting since May. Whole condo rental in a nice quiet complex with both vacation rentals and full time residences, so there are POA rules about max occupancy to keep traffic low in shared areas like the pool. I have in my house rules “max occupancy 4, strictly enforced” and also that I have a Ring Doorbell at the front door. I also repeat Max Occupancy rule in all caps on the check in info I send a few days prior to arrival. Today is the 2nd time this month people have made their reservation for 4 but have shown up with extra guests. The last time this happened I reminded the guest about the max occ house rule and got no response so I contacted Airbnb, who had them remove the 4 extra guests (it was a group in town for a softball tournament. I assume the extra family got a hotel room or something). Anyway, this resulted in hard feelings and ugly gestures made to the camera, and no review (I was relieved that she didn’t leave me a bad one in retaliation). So today there are 2 adults and 4 teenagers, and I feel like I have to let it slide and hope for the best as I am new and can’t afford bad reviews. The only thing I can think to do going forward is to turn off instant booking and respond to requests to book with a message stating that “you will not be permitted to stay with extra guests and I will know because I have a ring doorbell, which is a camera”. Will this work? And is it rude?
I’m disgusted with people lying and sneaking in extra guests. Besides the POA rule, I don’t want people sleeping on my sofas. Also, I clean it myself and don’t want to clean up after a large group. I just don’t know how to make it anymore clear other than sending a very blunt message before approving requests. Can I do that?

Head.desk.

Stop this line of thinking and enforce your rules.

3 Likes