Instant book... pressure from Airbnb

HI Guys I’m. New on the forum but not new to Airbnb I’ve been hosting since 2010.but I paused my renting with AIRBNB because I live here and it wasn’t worth it. Recently I’ve moved so I listed again. AIRBNB KEEP PRESSURISING us to have instant book or we won’t show up in searches. They also pressurise not to have minimum nights as they say it means you won’t get bookings. I don’t need continual bookings and prefer a week or more quality over quantity as I rent out my entire house and so can’t check on them as you can in a room rental.
I also am a little miffed that Airbnb don’t want us to see the profile of booker until the e already books. To stop discrimination they say. This means that I have no say over who hires my home, or I have to cancel the booking once I see who they are and their history. This impacts superhost status if we cancel. And its the number one reason why I don’t want instant book.
I would appreciate some feedback on how others are handling this. How do you feel about instant book?

Welcome to the “New” Airbnb. You as host really don’t have a lot of sway over these changes. If you hold to your weekly stays and no IB, you will be lower in the searches. You could start out with what you want and if you don’t get bookings start playing with the suggestions that recommend.

2 Likes

I very much prefer instant book but I have a different kind of listing from you.

I agree with Lynick4442 that you can try what you prefer first and see how it goes. Many hosts here have all the bookings they want without using instant book. I also have no problem with not seeing their picture. However I can see information about the guest. If you don’t get the information with the booking request that you require then follow up with questions.

Ignore Airbnb’s advice, tips and pressure. You will get better advice on the forum although you will also get contradictory advice. LOL.

1 Like

@Donna_Jack -