I'm about to start my first AirBnB trip as a guest

Firstly thank you to anyone who suggested I not leave. I do enjoy this forum for some of the back and forth but mostly because I have learned a lot from it. My mother always said “if you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all” which to be honest was the height of irony.

Anyway I am taking a week off from Monday to travel around Victoria with the dog. I am staying at 3 AirBnB places, which I have never done before. Here is what I learned when looking for places and booking (as a host with 200+ bookings):

1. Location and (maximum) price plus cover photo and description were what attracted me to the listing
  2. I didn’t read reviews but only looked at 5 star places with lots of reviews
  3. Having a dog with me I did read the rules around dogs so she was allowed to sleep indoors
  4. None were on IB so I wrote a small essay asking if I could stay and pointing out I would be a good guest as already a host. As one involved sharing a space with a single woman it seemed like the right thing to do.
  5. I was grateful they all accepted my booking within a few hours. If it had been longer, like more than half a day, I would probably have looked for somewhere else.
  6. Only after they accepted my booking I went back and read more about the host and the rules etc. That seems the wrong way around but maybe that is what most people do.
  7. I told them I would let them know on the day my ETA and keep them updated. They will probably get a series of messages like “I am 2hrs/1hr/30mins/5mins away”.

I am not saying this was the right way to do things. But it has changed my thinking about how much guests read the listing before booking. A bit odd really as I am a very analytical person and when booking hotels do quite a bit of research before booking to make sure it is the best place for me. Even if I find a place on TripAdvisor etc I usually book directly with the hotel.