I love this gig

So we all have occasional guests who give this gig a bad rap, but I’d like to share some success stories that I believe set everything in it’s right place.

We’ve been so blessed here in Anchorage, Alaska to have great guests making up 95% of our folks.

Last year we had a lovely couple from France invite us down to enjoy drinks with them. We ended up staying out past 1am with them enjoying conversations.

Last month I had a great couple with a teenager who dealt with a water leak like champs and were very apologetic when their grill fire caught a hanging basket on fire.

Right now I have a pair of PhD students working remotely. Lovely couple experiencing the Alaska dream.

Last spring I had an older couple up here for their first grandchild. They were awesome and took exceptional care for the place.

This winter I had extended guests who were also up here for visiting grand children.

And just recently I had guests who came up here to elope.

As much as poor guests get their doing on this site, I want to make a hard push for the amazing guests I get by default.

I love hosting and meeting new people and somehow I’ve been blessed to get the top tier of guests.

10 Likes

You are very lucky Deacon to have only positive experiences with guests. We too have had 95% excellent guests and very much enjoy the whole hosting thing.
Reading through the posts on this forum may give the idea hosting is one nightmare after another. When in actual fact we mainly only post here when we need help with some aspect of hosting, or in some cases somewhere to vent/ rant to help us stay sane.
I hope it continues the same way for you but when the time comes… there are experienced hosts on this platform with wise advice.

3 Likes

We all talk about what goes wrong more than things that go as we hoped that they would. We have made some lifelong friends in our ten years as hosts. The bad ones become a good laugh once we get past the moment.

5 Likes