How big of an issue is keeping track of keys?

I am a Computer Science/Business student trying to make Airbnb easier for home owners. As an Airbnb owner, how big of an issue is keeping track of keys? I am thinking about developing a secure, low-cost facial recognition door lock.

Personally, I never had an issue with it. Others might but overall I donā€™t think itā€™s a big deal. I bet most hosts has an additional spare key if lost.

However, the idea in general is a good one. Not sure how itā€™ll work with guests where the facial recognition lock didnā€™t see them before but you probably thought of itā€¦

Thanks for the feedback @Oded - thatā€™s very helpful :smile:

Never had an issue but then Iā€™m an onsite host who always checks their guests in and out.

Thanks for getting back @Bunny! From your experience as an Airbnb host, would it be helpful to have a temporary lock system? For example, be able to change the passcode or face remotely from your phone?

No. I live 40ft away from my rental and Iā€™m a farmer so Iā€™m on property 90% of the time.

Makes sense - thanks for the feedback :smile:

Itā€™s an issue for some hosts but I donā€™t think facial recognition locks are the answer. Thatā€™s not to say there isnā€™t a market for it, but I donā€™t know how it would work with Airbnb? The host would have to meet the guest and set it up? Doesnā€™t seem convenient.

There are already phones with the FR technology and apps to operate smart locks so interfacing the two shouldnā€™t be hard.

1 Like

Great - thanks for getting back @KKC! Would your opinion change if guests were able to be added remotely with a single picture?

I see running into guests who are resistant to uploading a clear picture for privacy reasons. Also there are guests who arenā€™t very tech savvy and therefore tech resistant.

Iā€™m also an onsite host so donā€™t have a problem with keys; just trying to anticipate roadblocks youā€™d encounter.