How best to arrange self check-in

Hi guys, as you might have figured, I am new to all this and am hosting a 1 bed apartment in London.

Was wondering if there have been any ingenius ways of enabling guests to self check-in in apartments that are inside secured buildings.

So my apartment building requires a key fob at the entrance of the building to unlock the main doors, so a keypad lock on my apartment door would not be useful really.

My apartment is on the ground floor so maybe I was thinking of hanging a lockbox just outside my balcony that guests could access to get the keys from.

Any ideas would be greatly welcome!

If it’s ok for you, i don’t not see why not. I stayed in secured buildings and a host always greeted me . Actually when I see " secured building" I tried to skip this listing as I know checking in will be a pain with the exact time of arrival and sometimes at weird check-in hours. For example one host wanted me to check-in before 2 pm as she was leaving for work at that time. Her listing said 2 pm, but it didn’t say no later than that.
I would love as a guest to have this check in option

Thanks Yana, we actually live in the same building, just upstairs so welcoming hosts is not a problem at all for us, however I would like to enable self check-in so that i can include my listing in the so called ‘work collection’, my apartment is very near to a big business hub and also a conference centre so it can be ideal for people visiting for work.

1 Like

Hi @amafzal,

I always want to meet guests too but we decided to offer self check in too for the same reason as you. There are several hosts here who manage very successful businesses remotely but after many years hosting, I believe that a personal greeting can save you untold unpleasantness over the years,