Hi....hope to be of some use here!

Hi,

Just joined as our family has a small AirBnb property that is doing very well in Southport, Merseyside.

I am on a one man mission to help people make their properties more secure. I hate seeing combination key boxes and keys left under pots and stones!!! It does not have to be that way!!!

My day job is a security advisor…any aspects!!! Access, CCTV, intruder alarms, fire systems, automatic doors, gates and garages and so if anyone would like any advice, which is always FREE then please give me a shout.

Regards,

Mike Jackson

Hey Mike

Welcome and thanks for your offer to offer advice. I’m looking for something very specific, that I’ve not come across online.

I have a guest house that I’d like to install a digital lock on the entry door

The challenge is that it is a metal framed door with a ‘Hoppe multipoint lock’ (with a traditional keyed lock), so installing the standard type of automated deadbolt lock will not work. I’ve contacted the manufacturers rep, who were not very helpful. There is supposedly a system that they can retrofit, but it requires “engineering” and more money than I think is reasonable (thousands of $).

My current approach for quests

• I have a digital lock on the entry gate; I provide that code to the guest
  • I leave the guest house door unlocked, with the key inside.
  • Upon departure, I ask them to leave the key behind, and just close the door (unlocked) behind them.