Help with wording?

I don’t encourage children to my listing. It’s an older cabin that has not been child proofed in any way. I rent an entire home in a rural setting mostly to tourist to the local vineyards and festivals. I have accepted a stay that included an infant and another a 6yo girl. Both turned out to be good experiences but I’m still worried that with America’s lawsuit happy culture it might not be a good idea to continue.

I recently started putting together a standard reply expressing my thoughts and concerns as well as pointing out a few of the dangers in the place and asking the parent to be aware and take full responsibility for any issues.

Is there a wordsmith on board that could help me tweak this?

"xxxxxx,

The reason I indicate not suitable for infants or children is a safety issue for me. I’m a retired neonatal ICU nurse and take the safety of all little ones personally. I realize the cradle and stuffed bears in my pictures may give the wrong impression husband was a woodworker and collected stuffed bears. Those items are remnants of him in the cabin.

Regretfully my house is not set up to accommodate children safely. Some of the safety issues I see with this are as follows:

…details of dangers children could potentially face…

Hopefully you understand. I’ve seen way to many little ones hurt in my occupation as a nurse so I take their safety very serious.

With all that said. If you can ensure the children will be closely supervised and will take full responsibility legally and financially for any damage they may cause and for all the safety concerns I have or ones that may crop up, I would be more than happy to host you.

Thanks"

I’m not a lawyer but I think you are increasing your liability by acknowledging saftey issues. You can’t claim ignorance for anything you list.

4 Likes