Guest says they'll be here at 7pm...its 11:19 pm

How rude is this? Says she’s at a conference will be here at 7pm. At 8:30pm with no word from her I ask if she’s all right…she says conference went late I’ll be there by 11pm…it’s now 11:30pm…my listing says $10 late fee for arrivals after midnight…can I enforce?

1 Like

You could alter the reservation to include the $10 fee and hope she accepts it. I’m not an expert on this, hopefully one of the more experienced hosts will chime in.

1 Like

It may be rude, but from my perspective as a brand new host, its the norm and should be expected.

My first guests checked in 2 hours early with no warning. My second guests were fine. My third guests didn’t respond to my 10 AM message and showed up 4 hours past check in, breezily explaining they’d decided to go shopping. Though I didn’t NEED to be anywhere I wanted to leave my house to run some errands, one of which was to get a charging station/Bluetooth clock radio for their room.

From a host’s perspective, this is annoying, but I don’t know that there is a lot we can do about it or expect.

From a guests perspective, people are used to showing up at hotels anytime after check-in. Why should they think it should be any different at an Airbnb?

1 Like

@Chloe, your gentle response to this thread made me realize just how horrible my current wording is regarding check in times:

"~~Please be respectful as this is not the Marriott so there is no front desk person 24/7 :slight_smile: I have a job and a life, I do need for you to communicate what time you will be checking in!
~~Keep me updated if your check in time changes, I will be available 1/2 hour prior to your stated check in time, and 1/2 hour after your stated check in time, otherwise, you may be stuck waiting for me!
~~Check in is no later than 8pm. check out is 11am. "

For now, I’ve changed it to this: