Guest makes a stink, Airbnb gives full refund contravening host's cancellation policy

So according to this article, the guest, a total newbie, clicked on Reserve, which would mean it was an IB booking, and it was also a long term booking, then thought he could negotiate and when the host declined to negotiate, thought he could back out of the deal and that it was the host’s responsibility to cancel. The writer of this article also spoke to a travel blogger who is quoted as saying, falsely, that the host had the responsibility to cancel. This was all entirely on the guest and his cluelessness, but this article makes it sound the opposite, like he was a victim of unfairness.

4 Likes

Thank you for sharing this.

It’s too bad that the writer didn’t make this story a teachable/learning moment that cancellation policies apply to many consumer purchases: short-term rentals like Airbnb and hotels, airplane tickets, door-to-door sales and more. So consumers and young adults like this student need to look for them, understand them and the mechanics of cancelling.

That blogger did say he also thought that the Host ‘should have’ told the guest to cancel once the guest naively wrote “OK, I’ll have to look elsewhere, thanks for the consideration.” Although the Host had no legal obligation to advise the guest to cancel and how, our forum members might debate what the ethically right thing to do was for this Host after the obviously clueless guest wrote that.

1 Like

It was a RTB. It says Reserve on the first page either way, whether it’s an RTB or an IB. It’s not until the second page that it says “RTB” and have to send a message to the host. Also in the story, they mention, “Almost exactly 12 hours later, on the morning of Jan. 6, the host’s representative accepted the request.”

It wasn’t always like that though, it used to say “Request” or “Book” but it changed maybe 3 years ago to “Reserve” for both.