Welcome to AirHostsForum.com!

We are a community of AirBnb hosts. This forum is dedicated to connecting hosts with other hosts. Sign up to get the latest updates and news just for AirBnb hosts!

Guest left her dog unsupervised in my cottage for 15 hours

Oh, I have a doozy of a story. It is fairly complicated in its timeline, so I will try to tell the salient points in an easily digestible form.

The Prelude

• I am a remote host who lives in NYC and rents her weekend house two hours north in the Catskills. I have been renting for 6 years. I disclosed security cameras on the exterior.

• In November I was contacted by a woman who said she and her husband were traveling up from Virginia for late holiday celebration with their family in my town, bringing a well-behaved beagle.

• I told her, on the Air platform, by the way, your area family is welcome to come see you at the house, but normally I do not allow anyone on the property not on the rental agreement.

• All communications were great and friendly and warm, although as Winter Storm Grayson was forming she started calling me and texting me about moving her arrival date back a day and possibly extending the stay one more night. Sure – not a problem. But I also reminded her to please contact me on Airbnb.

The Wind-Up

• The day before she was scheduled to arrive she asks “By the way, do you have any recommendations for a pet sitter? I am having a hard time finding one.” To which I said, ‘Um, I am sorry, but you’re not allowed to have a pet sitter come to my property. As I mentioned before you are not allowed to have guests on the property not on the rental agreement. And certainly not without you present.’ She then went on to say that the big holiday festivities with her granddaughter included taking her on her first trip to NYC and go to the American Girl Store. (Gah! But that’s another rant.) But no worries - she would “figure something out.”