Guest cancelled because she thought she was renting the whole house, not just a room

My listing says “PRIVATE ROOM IN HOUSE” , and in my description I indicate that the bed and bath are private, but full use of a shared kitchen is available. And there’s a resident dog. And the picture of the house clearly shows a large house. I had a guest book two nights, and after 4 emails to her asking what time she expected to arrive over the space of a week prior to arrival, so I could be sure to be home, on the day of arrival she finally answered: “wait—are you in the house too?” I explained that the description was clear, and she cancelled, saying she needed privacy. I’m fairly new to hosting, but I’ve never dealt with someone so clueless before. A whole house for $50/night? Two questions: should I emphasize in my description that I am in residence as well, and should I review the guest (even thought she never came)?

2 Likes

Rule 1, guests don’t read.
Rule 2, see rule 1

I always send a message immediately on receiving the booking, confirming guest numbers, etc
If I don’t hear from them, then I call to confirm details.
2 days before I confirm again…

5 Likes

Yeah, it seems some guests just look at the photos and price- they don’t think reading is required.

If you have an exterior shot of the whole house, remove it. (It’s also a security risk to make the house easily findable from a photo)

Yes, you need wording in your listing to the effect that you live there.
“Please note: this is a home-share listing. I live in the house and share common areas with guests. Your room and bathroom are your private spaces.”

Or whatever the arrangement may be. I list my kitchen and outdoor areas as shared, but not my living room.

Of course, with a guest like this, it wouldn’t likely make a difference. She didn’t bother to read anything, including your messages.