Guest angry about the TOT

I have been doing this for about seven years and I have always collected the tax either through PayPal or Venmo before arrival or cash upon arrival. It is one of the first things I discuss in the description of my home and then I mention it a couple more times, explaining why and when and how much. When I receive a reservation request, I explain it again and I do not accept the reservation until I am sure that the guest understands it and has agreed to it. Santa Barbara does not have an agreement with Airbnb to collect it. I know there are other ways to do it but this is how I have always done it. Here is the conversation I had on the Airbnb platform with the guest that just left:

Me: Please make sure you have read all the information about my home including the part about the county tax which is completely separate from any amount collected on this site and which in this case will be $83. Please confirm. Thank you.

Guest: Thanks yes, confirmed on the county tax. Although it looks like it would be $26320.12 = $63?

“For the privilege of occupancy in any hotel, each transient is subject to and shall pay a tax in the amount of twelve percent of the rent charged by the operator.”

“Rent: The consideration charged, whether or not received, for the occupancy of space”

https:// countyofsb.org /ttcpapg/taxcoll/tot.aspx

Me: 625 x .12 plus $4 per night bed tax, as noted in the description of my home.

Guest: ok. got it thanks.