Guest angry about my cancellation 112 days prior(Help!)

Hello denizens of this forum! This is my first time posting here only due to needing some advice. I am a rookie host who only recently entered this business with a house my parents refurnished. Anyways, heres my problem:

So, i had a reservation from the 26th of July to the 1st of August. This was fine until i had another reservation from the 1st of August to the 9th in which this guest(who had previously been cancelled from another host) asked me if they could check-in in the 31th of July(this was before they booked). My parents rushed me to say yes without checking if that day was free. So basically then i found out i had to cancel one of them and since the newest guest had already been canceled beforehand i felt guilty and cancelled the previous one. However i did cancel them with 112 days beforehand. After i did that i didnt hear from them until yesterday (one month afterwards) saying this:

Regrettably, its cancellation, although “legal”, left us completely without accommodation. This decision was, in our view, very unright and cost us several hours of research and 300 euros less in our budget. That, or cancel the plane trips of 6 people, that would be much more than 300 euros.
It seems to us that you have to better consider the availability of the house you have for rent.

I lied to them saying i had to do some surgery or whatever as the excuse for canceling their book. Meanwhile, i did some research around my area and there are houses for the same amount of guests for less than mine at around the same date so its not like they dont have any other options.
I know that this is my fault but i dont really have a way of fixing this other than ignoring them… i mean, i think they have enough time to find another host? Please what do i do??

Hello @BroCake