First Air no-show

Hello,
I’ve been hosting in Indianapolis now for 7 months. It’s been amazing! No huge challenges!
That being said:
Has anyone had a guest not show up or cancel their booking? It’s so bizarre to me. My check-in time is 3p-7pm. Since I live on the other side of the house and was home, I waited and expected to hear the guest come in at anytime. I didn’t hear him by 7pm. Since he only booked for 1 person, I thought maybe he was being extra quiet. The next day I went over and knocked on his door, there was no answer. Maybe he’s sleeping late. I thought I should leave him alone. I went on to church and came back to clean the space. The place hadn’t been slept in at all. First I messaged him, “hey there, wanted to make sure you got in alright and that you slept comfortably.” No response. I called air and reported this seemingly strange activity. Air told me that they “could not discuss the guests’ accounts.” The rep also said, “if he calls us, we will ask him to reach out to you.” LoL. This told me that he never called them either. So strange!

Yes, we’ve had two no-shows. But we eventually heard from them. In both cases, it had to do with weather delays that affected their flights.

I have had a couple now shows, guest leaving a day early and one guest who arrived at 9PM and left at midnight. I don’t even ask, EZ money

RR

8 Likes

Well it couldn’t be the weather because it’s been sunny and mild here till today, a little bit of snow but nothing big. I just hope that my guest is OK. He said he was coming into town for his brothers wedding. I was thinking maybe he found a place closer to the wedding venue.

Yeah, I probably get a little too concerned about people.

2 Likes

It happens. Keep the money and treat yourself to something nice.

9 Likes

I have had two no-shows in about 300 stays. It isn’t super common but does happen.