Events cancelled and guests cancelling

Since events are getting canceled, I’ve had guests cancel their booking. One of them canceled without much push-back. I have a strict policy and while I understand the current travel climate is unexpected and unfair, it’s not covered under Airbnb’s EC policy. This is a business for me and I depend on these rentals.

Another guest went to Airbnb, which I thought was a good idea, but now Airbnb is asking me: “is there anything you can do to make this fair to the guest but also to yourself?”.

I don’t know what they want me to say?
I wish they offered some potential solutions instead of a vague note.
I wish the guests had read the policy or had travel insurance to cover their costs.
I am new to this so I’ve never experienced any type of cancellation before.

1 Like

If you want to stick hard to your refund policy, maybe offer to refund your guests if the dates are rebooked and after you have received payment from the replacement booking. That seems perfectly fair to me.

Just be prepared for Airbnb to refund the guests anyway.

5 Likes

They should refund them with their own money. They are a multi-billion dollar business.

That actually makes a lot of sense. I will offer that as an option!

10 Likes

Air is trying to guilt you into saying “It’s OK they can cancel without penalty.”

Don’t do it!! Air wrote their Corona policy; it’s their job to enforce it or not; it’s not your job!

BTW – if you depend on Airbnb income, I strongly suggest that you find another basket or two to put your eggs in. Airbnb was never intended to be a full-time make all your living from it sort of thing. It was intended as a way for people to make some extra cash.

7 Likes

I have a full-time job as well and I do quite well. I can afford all the bills without the supplementary income, but it certainly helps and I am appreciative of it!

I think you’re right, they are guilting and I think they think I will give-in because I am new.

3 Likes