Do you allow cancellations outside your policy?

This is my first time posting, I have found this site great so far!
We have a rental at the beach and have a guest who booked for one night THIS Friday, they made the booking Monday of this week. She just messaged me and asked if she could cancel the reservation and if they promise to book again in the future would we allow a refund even though our policy is Moderate and states within 5 days there is no refund.
The reason for cancelling…they were hoping for sunshine and the weather is starting to look unfavorable.

I am new to hosting, only for a couple months with little issues so far and only had one guy who cancelled in time to get a refund (cause I wouldn’t allow his lab outside our no pet policy).
I am unsure what to do, if I let them cancel I have no guarantee they will book again and I am out the money. If I dont let them cancel I risk getting bad feedback for this. Do I let them cancel if they book another date before they cancel this Friday.

Anyone been in this situation? How did you handle it?

Ridiculous. No sunshine? The policy is there for a reason. Use it. Buyers are liars. I hate to say it but it’s true. If there was an illness or family crisis, that’s one thing. Politely remind them you have but one room, not 1,000 like a hotel and this is a business. And then tell them to kiss your azz where the sunshine…don’t shine.:smile:

I kid. I kid.

2 Likes

IslandNeuk - Lady is absolutely correct. If the weather was so important to them, they should have booked with someone with a flexible policy. Besides, it’s only Wednesday - who knows what tomorrow will bring, much less Friday?! I’ve had an outdoor birthday party planned for 12 6 year olds with thunderstorms predicted for the entire morning as late as midnight the night before. The day was glorious - one of the prettiest days of the year.

The very well may book again - and possibly cancel again!!