Discount ? Hell No!

Got an inquiry:

My name is xxxx.
I’m an accountant for a cyber-security company and my husband works for an investment bank.

bla bla bla

Can we agree to the following rental terms?
60% of original price “all-inclusive”, i.e. ALL charges, Airbnb service fees, taxes, cleaning fees, etc.

Reply:

You start with telling us about the good jobs you have, you are probably making a lot more than us at the moment. So I think you can afford the original price.

They can go **** themselves I don’t work for free.

17 Likes

Yea, I would always approach the replay as a “business”. And state your policy and stay firm. Any reply can be be met with the copy of your policy over and over. They have to understand this is a business, not a hobby.

2 Likes

I usually tell such people I will give them a discount tomorrow.

2 Likes

Whenever I’m asked about a discount I say “Sorry, the apartment already represents great value for money so no discounts are possible”.

Often they’ve just read on some travel blog that you should always try to haggle with your accommodation provider and end up booking anyway.

Fortunately, most hosts are way too smart to fall for the discount game. :slight_smile:

11 Likes

“Thank you for your inquiry. I’m sure you will be able to find a rental that meets your budget.”

20 Likes

At my former rental when I was a newbie I had someone ask if I could give them a discount. So, I offered them something small. They then had the utter nerve to ask if I could go lower.
That was the end of considering discounts. I told them no.

5 Likes

I have had folks ask for discounts and I respond with a BS line “The price was recently lowered and I’m breaking even. Any additional discount would put me at a loss. However, please feel free to contact Airbnb and ask for a discount on the booking fee.” That puts an end to the request. They can book elsewhere.

6 Likes

I don’t want them.