Crashing in the living room

Has anyone ever run across this kind of request?

Potential guest: Hello. I am an international student from blah blah staying in the USA and want to come to LA with my friend. It would be inappropriate for us to sleep in the same bed, so would it be okay if one of us stayed on the sofa in the living room?

Me: No, we do not allow this. It would be better for you to find accommodations better suited for you. best of luck with your travels. [Then I hit the DECLINE button.]

Uh…yeah. That’s like asking a hotel if it would be okay for someone to sleep in the lobby because it would be ‘inappropriate’ for you to share a room and you don’t want to pay for another room. Huh?

People never cease to amaze me.

4 Likes

Yes, I have had a similar request. It was a man and a woman who were friends. They didn’t want to sleep in the same room. They asked if one of the beds could be put in the living room. We said fine.

3 Likes

Yes, I’ve had this too several times. I’ve not had a problem with it but I’ve told the guests that I do not supply any extra bedding for the sofa and suggested that they bring a sleeping bag.

3 Likes

“It would be inappropriate for us to sleep in the same bed”

OMG :scream: Maybe they can look for a place with two beds. Or a place with two rooms. Or just stay in two BnB’s. Crazy people, good that you declined.

@EllenN I love the fact that you show great flexibility towards your guests. I also consider myself a flexible host. But didn’t you for one moment hesitate giving in to that request? What was your reasoning behind it? I would really feel that this would be pushing it a little bit, not to say that I would feel awkward about people that can’t sleep in two beds in one room.