Complete Newbie - Away for 1 month - How to handle cleaning/linen/key?

Hi there,

I set up a hosting account and 4 separate guests have booked already.

I’m going to the other side of the world for a month in two weeks’ time and am wondering how best to manage the key/cleaning/linen situation?

Most management companies won’t bother with the rental, because it’s a short term and they want a minimum 3 months of bookings before they get involved.

There are friends whom I can rely on and I have a cleaner (who doesn’t speak English well), and a store that’s willing to keep my key to pass to guests (and also where guests can drop-off keys).

Obviously this situation isn’t ideal, so my questions are: -

• will guests complain if they have to pick up a key from a store instead of the standard Meet & Greet?
  • will guests be annoyed if hypothetically I leave clean linen for them and they have to make their own bed (if the cleaner lets me down?

If any experienced hosts can provide me with a minimum requirement for the guests and what I really need to focus on and also what I may be able to leave out (not so I can get away nor cheat anyone, but simply because I will be on the other side of the world so the time difference makes communication difficult), I’d be happy to know and am open to any advice and suggestions.

Thank you in advance.

One solution for the key would be a lockbox. I use one.

You have to consider what you’ve promised to the guests booking. Are they expecting to share a beer with you in the evening? We had a host who had to leave town unexpectedly and her guests freaked out over being left alone.

Whatever you choose, communicate promptly and clearly to the guests so they know what they are getting.