Can I post a Negative Review Re. Urination?

Hello,

I’m fairly new to hosting - we just had our fourth set of guests. I have a query about leaving the latest guest and his party a negative review.

Here are the facts. It was a party of five and there were no previous reviews. The house initially looked clean and tidy but on going to get my daughters jumper from a baby changing table in our master bedroom (off limits as per the house rules - we only let out the non master bedrooms) it was wet and covered in urine. It transpired that all the clothes on the two bottom shelves of the changing table were urine soaked and they were still wet.

My toddler is too small to reach the table to wee there (and in any case wasn’t in the house). I can therefore only think that a member of the party drunkenly went into the room and used the table as a toilet. I’m aware this sounds like a pretty wild accusation but it’s resulted in a lot of washing and is just pretty gross! I’d rather other hosts weren’t exposed to the same behaviour.

I was thinking of writing something like ‘Communication was good and the house was left tidy. A vase was missing from the bathroom and a number of urine soaked clothes were found in a bedroom that as per the house rules was off limits’. Does this seem ok? I’m worried they’ll reply and say i’ve gone mad.

Thank you Joanna

3 Likes

Leave an honest unemotional review that reflects your experience. So it seems okay to me.

If part of the home is off limits then put a lock on the door so they can’t access it. Some guests will go through every closet and room either out of malice or curiousity or even parasomnia.

8 Likes

I think that is not only OK but useful information. Your review is balanced, factual and strikes me as unemotional.

I agree that getting locks on the doors to rooms that are unavailable should be added to your ‘to do’ list.

Thank you for your first post!

P.S. It’s the guest who was mad, if anyone. How gross!