Bookings have come to a halt!

Help. I’m new to hosting, and started this July, I love it! But it seems to have come to a sudden halt. I have zero bookings after the first week of Sept. I changed pricing around for this tomwhat Airbandb. Suggested. Made sure my instant booking is on and made sure everything about my site is clear and interesting. What is happening? I understand algorithms and such, I show up about 3rd on my towns page. Not sure why the sudden halt in business.

Don’t set your prices to the Airbnb smart price! It’s really dumb, set way too low, not even enough to maintain a listing. Instead switch to travelling, search for a place like yours and check your price is competitive. Anyway it’s not all about pleasing the bargain hunters.
Maybe tweak your wording or photos. I have had a lot of last minute bookings lately but have been fully booked with mostly really good guests.

2 Likes

double check and make sure your listing is still showing in case of a tech issue

3 Likes

All new hosts receive a “new host boost” to get you in the swing of things. This does drop off, although we’re not sure of when exactly. I joke that Airbnb loves to get us salivating like Pavlov’s dogs when we hear that magic ding on our phones. We then become like an addict chasing our first high to figure out what we can do to get that feeling back again. :rofl:

If you show up third on the first page of your town’s listings, you are doing just fine for placement. Are there a lot of listings in your area? If you’d like to share your listing, other hosts can offer their suggestions. Sometimes it’s hard to look at our own work with a critical eye.