Bathroom/shower upgrade

Ok, my husband and I are planning a bathroom upgrade this fall. It’s an old/gross bathtub and ugly enclosure. To save money we’re planning on just doing a shower stall and tiling the whole bathroom (my husband does great tile-work). My only concern is that we plan to cater to families. I’m starting to doubt my decision, but it costs so much more to do a tub. I have a 2yo and a 4yo, but I’ve taken them into the shower with me often when in a hurry or in a place that doesn’t have a tub. Do you think it would be an issue? I’d prefer to make the bathroom more luxurious and have a built in seat than have a tub, but I’d hate to spend the money and then have tons of comments on not having a bathtub.

I am a professional interior designer ASID. At least one tub should be in a home. You will devalue the home if it has no tub. If another bathroom has a tub that’s ok. All tile is good, put some nice accent tiles or a border. As for guests, I’ve only had two who used the tub. Personally, I love a large walk in shower. Two of my projects where I removed the tub, but they had another tub.

1 Like

In my situation the people are on another level of the home, so I allow them to bath very young children upstairs in our tub - but if I remember correctly, you’re on in a different building. Is that right?

I think you could wait just a bit and see what your bookings are - if you get a lot of very young children. We don’t - young, yes, but only twice in almost 70 groups has someone had to use the bath for their small child.

This is in a “mother-in-law” style apartment above our garage. It is on our property and if someone really needed to give their kids a bath, they could use our kids bathtub in our house. I"m just trying to foresee issues. We plan on using accent tiles. :slight_smile:

That should work! Good idea.

What is your occupancy limit? Is this a large mother-in-law suite?