Aspiring Airbnb host needs advice!

I am just getting into this (actually acquiring a property) and looking for help. Could someone(s) answer my questions?

• What is reasonable annual profit to expect on a 3 BR modest home in a large city that isn’t particularly a vacation hot spot but has plenty of attractions, hospitals, colleges etc?
  • What would be a good annual estimate for utilities and maintenance?
  • What are unexpected expenses?
  • When Airbnb offers “smart pricing” - is their recommended base price a good guideline of what to expect? Or too high/too low?
  • Is the “smart pricing” base price what I’d receive over and above cleaning, Airbnb service fees, and taxes?
  • What’s a good target occupancy for above-described large city?
  • How can I project occupancy? Do you trust AirDNA or other similar data analysis websites?
  • Advice, advice, advice - please let me know any pitfalls or other things you’ve learned or wish you would have known!
    Thank you!

I have a whole house waterfront rental (3 bedrooms) at the Jersey Shore. My profit is only $10,000 a year which includes the cleaning fee since I do the all the cleaning. It’s seasonal so I only rent June-August. I’m a teacher so I consider this my summer job.

I personally would not recommend buying a home just to rent out on Airbnb. I purchased this home because I plan to live there when I retire.

I will tell you that there are many unexpected expenses such as guests clogging up washing machine, breaking the drawers in the fridge, scratching wood floors by dragging luggage, breaking screen doors, etc. etc. Airbnb will not cover damages because it’s hard to prove which guest caused the damage unless the guests admits to it. The deposit left is really a joke because it’s hard to collect it. I wish you well.

1 Like