Are guests getting stupider?

Are your guests getting stupider?

This is a serious question. I have been doing airbnb for 5 years. I shut down last March and reopened in September. The questions below never came up in the over 1000 guests I hosted previously. Are you folks finding it to be the same?

a) Twice guests could not get in with the door password because it says it’s the last 4 digits of the phone number on record. (and then provide I provide the 4 digit the code). They are using their new phone number not the one on record.

(I have now taken out reference to their phone number on record and just giving them the code)

b) i. Shower usages - One guest couldn’t figure out how a bathtub lever works. She thought the bathtub was stopped up . Up for stopping and down for drainage.

ii. Another guest complained about water pressure from the shower (of course they didn’t ask while staying) and didn’t notice that the shower head has adjustments.

(I now have instructions on how to use the shower and will add the shower head info).

3 Likes

No, but I get a different sort of guest than most hosts. Also I’m still only open a fraction of the time compared to pre-Covid.

This isn’t just a matter of the door code. I’d want a current number. So when they book maybe you should confirm that the number on record is their number and don’t give them a door code until you get it.

Other people have reported that guests seem worse. The consensus seems to be that there are many new to STR guests and we have to help train them.

Also I know that the pandemic has drained part of my reservoir of patience. People in general annoy me to no end. I’ve definitely not gotten my groove back in terms of dealing with Airbnb at the same time I do dog boarding and trying to have a life.

9 Likes