Any Aussie age pensioners out there?

We are age pensioners and we AirBnB a couple of rooms in our house. We get an age pension payment from Centrelink every fortnight. We don’t get the whole pension because my wife still works.

If you are an Aussie age pensioner receiving the fortnightly payment you will know that you have to complete an online form every fortnight. I have no idea how to enter our AirBnB income into this form.

We have been into Centrelink for a one hour interview and still have no idea how to do this. They just kept answering questions that we weren’t asking. I used to code for a living so it’s not as though I’m totally stupid.

Has any AirBnB Aussie age pensioner discovered the solution to this mystery?

Do you have a myGov account? I am on the (Australian) DSP not Age Pension and so this may not apply. I declare AirBnB and other STR income using their income and assets declaration form on myGov under offering accommodation with breakfast. Because I offer breakfast I get a 50% reduction on the income (and an initial $4000 off) to determine my “income”. For that alone it is worth offering some packets of cereal, milk, tea&coffee and bread for toast. I just estimate it once a year based on my previous years income rather than update it fortnightly. I figure as long as I am close if they audit me worst I’ll have to pay a few hundred dollars to make up the difference. I still keep all copies of my dockets for tax purposes but this is the first year I’ve earned over the tax threshold.

Anyway I am not sure if any of that is useful but do check if reporting it as accommodation income leads to a reduction. I didn’t know this until i actually went through the process. I was expecting a reduction in my DSP on $24k of AirBnB income of $10k but it was only $5k.

2 Likes