A little venting and advise on making sure Airbnb backs up the host

If you had a bad pet allergy, wouldn’t you read the host listing or message the host prior to booking?

I have been hosting for 2 years and have learned to document all my inquiries through the Airbnb messaging system ONLY and also to make my listing as complete as possible. About a year ago I added in my listing “No pets inhabit the suite you will staying in but there are 1 dog and 2 cats that live in the apartment below. If you have severe pet allergies this suite may not be suitable.”

So the morning after check in I sent my normal message to see if everything was as expected. Imagine my surprise when I got this message: “Everything is fine except that I am allergic to pets and their smell. There is serious per order because of which I kept throwing up until 2:00am. Do you know any solution to this problem?”

Obviously they wanted their money back but they were booked for 4 nights and I have strict cancellation so I told them to contact Airbnb and maybe they could get a different place and not get charged more airbnb fees but that I would not provide a refund.

And here’s my second piece of advice. I immediatly called Airbnb and discussed the situation with a customer support person so that it was documented in writing.

Now the guests have left and I both verbally and in writing asked them to let me know if they were coming back (they left with their luggage so I doubted it) but they never replied.

So, even when people say my listing has too many details, I’m grateful that I had the documentation and strict cancellation policy so that I didn’t lose anything (except maybe a bad review but my listing states in the house rules say you can’t complain about something that is in the listing - but I’ve never tested that with airbnb review policy :wink: